Veterans Day – 11/11/1918

55884_f260.jpg

When I think of Veterans day I think of my Great Uncle whom I met as a child, he fought in the trenches on the western front. Veterans day originally commemorated the end of hostilities on the western front of the first world war. Eighty Nine years ago the Germans signed the armistice, fighting ceased on the eleventh hour of the eleventh day of the eleventh month. However older memorials across Europe date the end of the war to June 28th 1919. Many Germans would likely agree, they continued to suffer and starve until the allied blockade was lifted with the treaty of Versailles. Ferdinand Foch the Allied Supreme Commander and American General “Black” Jack Pershing wanted to continue the war. Foch proclaimed that the Versailles Treaty was only a twenty year cease fire, he was only wrong by two months – September 17th 1939 Germany invaded Poland igniting the Second World War.

I honor my great uncle who braved the trenches of the First World War, my Grandfather who fought the Japanese in the South Pacific during the Second World War, my Uncle who fought in Vietnam, my Cousins who fought in the First Gulf War and my Friends who fight there Today.

0 Responses to “Veterans Day – 11/11/1918”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Action is Everything

Total Commitment
Accept No Excuses
Never Surrender - Never Relent
Resist Ignorance
Survivability is Security
More is Never Enough
You Are What You Do
More and Faster
Self Sufficient Is Inefficient


a


