Consensus Decision Making

Consensus Decision Making is relevant to Business Communication because it is essential to identify people who are willing to compromise when one intends to negotiate. Identifying them requires understanding their methods.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Consensus_decision-making

I reject this sort of decision making myself, on the ground’s that seeking consensus often requires compromising one’s own objectives. I would only compromise my position or objectives if I was not confident about the principles that I based them on. If I found consensus despite being confident, then I would be marginalizing my position and objectives in exchange for a better opportunity to have elements of them accepted. I would in effect be agreeing to lose in exchange for everyone else agreeing to lose as well. Understanding whom you are communicating with and identifying methods of communication and decision making can only benefit you. I found the article and associated articles interesting and relevant.

0 Responses to “Consensus Decision Making”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Action is Everything

Total Commitment
Accept No Excuses
Never Surrender - Never Relent
Resist Ignorance
Survivability is Security
More is Never Enough
You Are What You Do
More and Faster
Self Sufficient Is Inefficient


a


